Hudson River Valley Wasp Attack

 

This is Noreen. See Noreen swim. Noreen is on the run, the swim, from killer wasps during her recent educational junket to Hudson, New York.

It isn’t true that wasps, like bees, die upon the sting. They have smooth stingers and can repeatedly sting the same person. Bees, however, die when they sting because their stingers are hooked;  when they pull away from someone they yank their guts out.

Noreen is miserable but her temper is slightly cooled by the water, her frail flesh healing once the 12 stingers were extracted. Once out of the water, and dried, Noreen’s next stop is the CVS pharmacy in town then the Helsinki wine bar just off Warren Street.

Junket and wasps are why she is late with her blog posting. She loved the learning, survived the wasps, and is back in Toronto to tell tales from her wild time in America. But first: back to dry land and first person.

I was miserable that afternoon but that was it just about it for misery. The nine intensive days of study were beyond my expectations and I’ll describe why in the next few postings.

I was in Hudson attending Oral History Summer School 2012, hoping to build my story-telling skills and increase my comfort with the art & craft of oral history production.

Names of co-attendees: Lena, Alex, Kate, Josephine, Melinda, Sara, Ben, Mark, Jenny, Hiram, Jeanne, Miriam, Jessica, and Suzy. Suzanne Snider was our incredibly knowledgable instructor.  You don’t need to know these names, but I need to tell them. They remain anchored to me, these brief weeks later, and I want to flash back to the room where we spent long hours in discussion, papers and coffee cups wonderfully messing up table tops. A site of learning.

Stick around for the next few posts, please, because the content will not be the goings-on of Noreen in quite this sensationally nacissitic way (thanks for indulging me though: those stings hurt!) No, I’ll write about the people and the history of Hudson. I can’t imagine a more worthwhile way for you to spend some time swallowing more words.

 

About Nor

I'm a creative non-fiction writer, with a special interest in memoirs and obituaries--life stories, local histories with flesh & blood anecdotal details. I'm also beginning to create podcasts of people's stories and expanding their audiences. I'm a diarist, an editor, and a political activist. I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and spend days tapping keys or staining my fingers in ink.
This entry was posted in obituaries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hudson River Valley Wasp Attack

  1. I can’t wait, my poor friend! Having had only one such sting in my life, I can’t imagine how overwhelming it must have felt!

Leave a Reply

