“The strangeness will wear off and I think we will discover the deeper meanings in modern art.” -Jackson Pollock

“I’ve gotta go. Enjoy every second.”

Settling in today to write this post, I stumbled across these two tiny sentences starting up the draft of another post I began a week or so ago. It was lying in wait for me to complete but then the days shoved me past, as they tend to do, and only today was I able to return to it.

I read the six words, six quite loaded words, and asked myself: “Why did I write that? Who said it anyway?” I am slightly ashamed and a whole lot embarrassed to admit that I don’t remember. I think it was something Don Ferguson at Air Farce told me about his friend Roger Abbott, but I’m not sure. Whoever it was, whenever they said it, and I have my assumptions, it was a lovely sentiment and I hoarded it, clearly, saved it up to give to you now.

Gotta go.

Enjoy every second.

Tomorrow, in fact, I’m doing a leave-taking myself: Heather and I will touch down in New York around noon and we’re planning to do plenty that will  be enjoyed.

We’re going to an art exhibit called Burial Party. Here is the artist’s description:

For those who think funerals should be festive occasions — celebrations of life rather than sad events that mark death — artist Vadis Turner’s new installation at Lyons Weir Gallery in Manhattan should be a welcome take on how we say goodbye.

“Burial Party” consists of a series of wall hangings made of colorful, resplendent ribbons and a central sculpture of a horizontal human form wrapped in red satin strips, draped with white artificial flowers and suspended by white and blue party balloons. There’s buoyancy to the installation, but it also turns the attention of the viewer to the very materials used to convey the solemnity of a death ritual.

By dumping mahogany, marble, lace, brass or stone – the textures of a funeral home – Turner proposes an alternative material vocabulary of death. Ultimately, Turner seems to suggest, decay and oblivion lurk beneath even the most beautiful funerary decorations.

Vadis Turner

http://lyonswiergallery.com/exhibitions.html

About Nor

I'm a creative non-fiction writer, with a special interest in memoirs and obituaries--life stories, local histories with flesh & blood anecdotal details. I'm also beginning to create podcasts of people's stories and expanding their audiences. I'm a diarist, an editor, and a political activist. I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and spend days tapping keys or staining my fingers in ink.
This entry was posted in obituaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

