More on Noah Augustine, Mi’kmaq Chief

 

As promised, I’m adding a link to the published obituary. It was in the paper on Christmas eve, the “Special Holiday Edition.” Although I was pleased it engendered perhaps a larger reading audience than usual, it saddened me to return again and again to thoughts of the loss–of Noah–to his family and to Canada.

Here’s an email I received from Noah’s sister Patricia.

“I was just speaking to my mother and she wanted to let you know that she loved the obituary you wrote on Noah. We all loved it. My mother spends Christmas with her mother in law in Cape Breton every year. And on Christmas Eve she picked up The Globe and Mail at the Shoppers Drug Mart.

She said she was feeling a little low and when she saw the obituary, she said she couldn’t stop the tears from starting to flow. She said she pulled herself together, because she was still in the store and she bought three copies of the paper. I told her I bought two copies lol. 

We both laughed as we spoke, and I read your email to me to her over the phone. She was so pleased that Noah’s obituary was printed in the paper on its most read day. She liked that a lot.  She wanted to make sure that on behalf of the family, that we thank you so much for writing such a wonderful piece about Noah.  I wish you a Merry Christmas Noreen and a Happy New Year. Take care.”

I’ll leave you now with Patricia’s words and Noah’s story.

AUGUSTINE Noah G&M Dec. 24 10

About Nor

I'm a creative non-fiction writer, with a special interest in memoirs and obituaries--life stories, local histories with flesh & blood anecdotal details. I'm also beginning to create podcasts of people's stories and expanding their audiences. I'm a diarist, an editor, and a political activist. I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and spend days tapping keys or staining my fingers in ink.
This entry was posted in death, Native Rights, obituaries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

