Snow day, snow death

Don’t you find it annoying how “weather” has become big news?

It’s Canada. It’s January. And it snows. Does this really qualify it for the lead story on-the-hour and in-depth interviews with meteorologists? I tend to think no, it doesn’t. And yes, it annoys me mightily. (Just as it annoys me and strains my muscles to leave my desk and tramp downstairs, slide inside all those bulky layers of wool, fleece, gortex, cotton, whatever, and head outside once more to shovel.)

The weather is news. And, tragically, the weather has caused the death of a police officer in Toronto yesterday. He tried to stop a stolen snow plow from careening through the streets near dawn, crashing into parked cars and threatening taxi cab drivers huddled behind their wheels. The snow plow was no doubt driven by someone mentally ill–this hasn’t been disclosed yet. The press is calling it a joy ride but I don’t see the joy in it, not from any angle. It’s a very Canadian death and one that will lead the news for days to come.

This morning I was barely awake when I switched on CBC radio and heard a reporter accost the cop’s widow at St. Michael’s Hospital as she arrived to find that her 35 year-old husband had died, his skull crushed in. On the way to the hospital, she first had to unload their two-year-old child somewhere. It’s at times like these I hate calling myself a reporter and sharing the stage with such flagrant harassment.

A snow day in Toronto.

About Nor

I'm a creative non-fiction writer, with a special interest in memoirs and obituaries--life stories, local histories with flesh & blood anecdotal details. I'm also beginning to create podcasts of people's stories and expanding their audiences. I'm a diarist, an editor, and a political activist. I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and spend days tapping keys or staining my fingers in ink.
This entry was posted in obituaries. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow day, snow death

  1. laradunning says:

    Yes, the story of snow is everywhere down here too. Snow in all states, even Hawaii. I lived in Alaska for 10 years and feel very confident driving in the snow, except here (western washington) where nobody knows how to drive in the snow. It creates total havoc. Luckily I can watch it from my window and then a few hours later the rain melts it.

Leave a Reply

