Toast to the Mothers of Ottawa

The obituary I wrote on Dr. Stanley Mercer appears in today’s Globe and Mail. I hope you get a chance to read it–best, for me, if you could actually plunk a coin into the box or hand it over to your corner store proprietor rather than read it on-line. It helps keep me in a job, doing what I so love doing. But I’ll add the link below anyway.

Whenever one of my obituaries appears in the paper, Heather takes me for breakfast at Tango Palace Coffee Shop up on Queen St. We eat toasted tea biscuits loaded with butter and a dollop of strawberry jam.  We warm our mitts on milky coffees and set to reading.

Today another local patron commented on the piece, knowing I was the author. Her words made me whisper to Heather: “I miss feminism, oh I so miss feminism!” This woman across the room found it tedious that I twice mentioned the grassroots group of Ottawa women who really got the proverbial ball rolling with the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario. Dr. Mercer was a huge force but he linked up with their strength and commitment and their need for better services for their kids back in the 1960s. Tedious, she said, not so much because it was repetition but because news about those gals was dull.

I’d like to thank my editor at The Globe, Susan Smith, for letting me drone on about these women.

I hope you enjoy the obituary.

G&M_StanleyMercer_2010Dec01

http://v1.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/LAC.20101201.OBMERCERGTA/BDAStory/BDA/deaths

About Nor

I'm a creative non-fiction writer, with a special interest in memoirs and obituaries--life stories, local histories with flesh & blood anecdotal details. I'm also beginning to create podcasts of people's stories and expanding their audiences. I'm a diarist, an editor, and a political activist. I live in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and spend days tapping keys or staining my fingers in ink.
This entry was posted in death, memorial, obituaries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Toast to the Mothers of Ottawa

  1. Daisy says:

    Oh my, you weren’t kidding when you said you write obits.. And I thought my job was tough sometimes! Haha.

    Thanks once again for visiting, and I wish you a wonderful holiday…

Leave a Reply

